How to quickly find locked file in finder without using Terminal

I am a photographer and lock certain "Keeper" files while shooting sports, air shows, etc. So I deal with thousands of files in just one session at a game or big event. When I download all my files, obviously I can find them using the icon view, but it takes a very long time and scrolling to see the lock on the files. I don't want to use terminal, because it doesn't open a folder and show me them. I find this very frustrating and as popular as Apple MacOs is for photographers and videographers, I am perplexed as to why this isn't built in to the OS already.... Does anyone know a 3rd party app or a way to get the results I am looking for? Thanks for any answers you may have, or suggestions how to accomplish this without quirky or time consuming steps.

Mac mini, macOS 14.4

Posted on May 4, 2024 4:13 AM

6 replies

May 4, 2024 2:08 PM in response to Solsticeman

I have a working macOS 14.4.1 solution that finds all locked files in a folder and then:

• Unlocks the individual file
  • Applies a designated Finder tag
  • Relocks the individual file

When it is done with the bullets above, it then pops a new Finder window with every locked file with a tag selected in the same color as the System Settings > Appearance > Accent Color.

The AppleScript solution does not use Finder in the above process and is quite fast for large folder contents.

May 4, 2024 6:48 AM in response to etresoft

As I stated in my post: "I am a photographer and lock certain "Keeper" files while shooting"

Cameras mark the files when you push a lock button after taking a photo you want to edit on your Mac. When you have 4K of photos in a folder, I am looking for a way to locate these files quickly. Your comment suggests I tag the files in the folders already on the Mac. The method you suggest serves no purpose. But thank you for your comment.

May 4, 2024 7:05 AM in response to Solsticeman