Connecting dual monitors to M2 Mac Studio

Hello everyone

sorry I am new to understanding a lot of this technology so I don’t know how everything works. I know the M2 Mac Studio has an hdmi connection for a monitor and multiple thunderbolt ports on the back. I can connect one monitor with hdmi, but what are some options for adding a second monitor? If I get a

monitor with a usbc port, would all I have to do is connect it with a thunderbolt cable? Or another monitor with an hdmi port and an hdmi to usbc adaptor? Would I be able to play videos with sound off of it? I have a main monitor, but I’m looking for the least expensive way to add a small second monitor, anywhere from 14-20 inch

thanks!

Posted on May 14, 2024 4:37 PM

9 replies

May 14, 2024 7:33 PM in response to N_vegas

N_vegas wrote:

I have an audio interface (for music production) that is hooked up to two Yamaha speakers. If this interface is connected to my Mac Studio, I could get sound to play from both monitors off it?

How does this audio interface connect to a computer? If it connects via Firewire (which was a popular choice for professional audio gear), you may run into the problems that

• Apple has discontinued their only FireWire adapter
  • Apple has removed Core Audio support for "plug-and-play" FireWire audio devices

If the interface is compatible with the Mac Studio, I believe the Mac Studio will let you select one audio output at a time. (With the option to play sound effects through a different one.)

On my Mac Studio, I get a choice of

• DELL U2723QE (DisplayPort)
  • iMic USB audio system (USB)
  • External Headphones (Headphone port)
  • Mac Studio Speakers (Built-in)
  • Apple TV (AirPlay)

So if both of your monitors had speakers or audio output jacks, and you also had this Yamaha interface, I think you would see a choice like

• Monitor1 (DisplayPort)
  • Monitor2 (HDMI)
  • Yamaha audio interface (USB)
  • External Headphones (Headphone port)
  • Mac Studio Speakers (Built-in)