Your computer has restarted because of a problem... since I bought it.

Hello everyone,

I am no expert but I am sure you can help me here. I bought an iMAC on early 2020, it is the Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019.

Since I bought it, I always had problems with the computer, but it was when I updated to Monterey in 2021 I started having the message "Your computer has restarted because of a problem.

During the years I have reset the computer many times, and also added RAM and a few months ago I changed to an SSD because the good 1TB Fusion drive in came with finally game up - I always suspected it had a problem but after several calls with Apple and taking it or a check, they always said everything was working well.

Anyways, after the full reboot and change in the Hard Drive I thought this issue would dissapear... but no, it just came back a couple of days ago. It always happen when I am away of the computer, usually during a "sleep" period, and I have finally decided to look for some help from the experts... I copied the report I received the last time and I am sharing it here with the hopes of getting some advice or finding out what could be the cause.

Thank you in advance.

- - - - -

iMac 27″, macOS 14.4

Posted on May 17, 2024 3:51 PM

8 replies

May 17, 2024 4:13 PM in response to juanjofloa

What RAM (brand, spec's, link to seller) did you use to upgrade to 40GB?

What drive (brand, spec's, link to seller) did you use to replace the Fusion Drive?

To get and give a better read of what's going on with your iMac,

Download and run the free version of EtreCheckPro, from > https://etrecheck.com/en/index.html

Then port the Report, as per > How to use the Add Text Feature When Post… - Apple Community

May 18, 2024 9:30 AM in response to juanjofloa

Thank you.

The Read speed of the Kingston SSD is slow. It should be closer to or slightly faster that the Write speed.

You need to check with Kingston and see if they recommend enabling TRIM on that SSD.